The temperatures in Taipei for the next few days are expected to be highs in the 80’s, lows in the 70’s. Temperatures in Seoul are supposed to be more similar to home with highs in the 60’s and lows in the 40’s.

It has been a challenge to pack for this trip!

Several events including receptions with the Taiwanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, an introduction to Taiwan President Ma Ying-jeou, a South Korean business briefing, and others, require “business formal.” Other events are casual, including a visit to Taipei’s night markets. I will visit some milling facilities where wearing a skirt and heels will be impractical. My usual Missoula attire is much more casual, tights, boots, knit skirts and dresses that in Montana is appropriate for nearly any occasion. To make matters a little more challenging, I have lost nearly 30 pounds since January; so, I have had to purchase more “business formal” clothing that includes jackets, skirts, and slacks. I’ve also packed beautiful dress that my mom bought me from my favorite Missoula store, Sotto Voce, for the Baltic Sea cruise I went on last summer. I’ve packed heels, flats, booties, and sneakers. I’ve decided to ditch boots because they aren’t practical in Taipei with it’s Florida-like weather.

I’ve packed, repacked, reconsidered, and finally have put together a wardrobe that will work for the varied temperatures and more formal nature of the trip. No (406) t-shirts, but I am bringing my Montana “Home” necklace, some agate jewelry from Sidney, Montana, and my Montana Yogo sapphire necklace.

And, I bring all my friends and family in my heart!

http://missoulian.com/news/state-and-regional/article_b111d591-bbe5-5347-8184-27c8b687a6f0.html

