Happy Valentines Day! Clem went to Bitterroot Floral yesterday after spendinIMG_4737.JPGg hours doing taxes at the University and came home with a gorgeous bouquet, a touching and honest card, and some Posh Chocolate. He obviously did very well and gets a Cupid patch for the year.

We went to church this first Lenten Sunday and heard about going into the desert and the temptations that we will encounter on our way to Easter. You can’t help but think that Valentine’s Day is riddled with temptations, not just chocolate, Champaign, and other romantic indulgences, but more especially the expectations that we have for others. I tend to expect too much, because I have been so spoiled by amazing people around me. My parents and my aunt sent cards and brought gifts. I made my parents brownies (and left a couple for home). I love to get flowers, I love to get spoiled, but really, I should be more concerned with loving others, not just my family, but my neighbors, coworkers, and the people I encounter every day. I did send out a few cards, and I had a sushi lunch with my friend, Annie. But, really I should stretch although it might be a little weird to give a heart-covered card to Cory next door, certainly a plate of cookies, a potted plant, or a smile are welcomed by everyone. Per usual, I fail. (sigh).

IMG_4730.JPG

I got my 10,000 steps this afternoon courtesy of a long walk with Kipper up the hill. On the calendar, spring is still 5 weeks away, but my experience this fine day was that it is here. We haven’t fallen below freezing for a couple nights, grass is greening rapidly, the snow is nearly off Mount Sentinel, I saw some mourning doves, heard some robins, and the buds on the trees are swelling. My eyes are seeking the yellow burst of buttercups on the side hills. Having lived in Montana all my life, I know that a snow storm can blow through any day, but my gut is telling me it won’t last.

 

I am making Clem and I a heart-shaped meatloaf, baked potatoes, and fresh green beans. Nothing says love like meatloaf! And, not bragging, but my meatloaf is pretty good, and even better it is straight forward and easy to make. So, please find below my meatloaf recipe, accompanied by my wishes for a warm and gentle Valentine’s Day. There is also a bonus brownie recipe –!IMG_4744.JPG

Lockman’s Meatloaf

My mom always used oatmeal for meatloaf. I’m not sure how I thought out of the box enough to come up with this recipe. Elliot needed an entry for a third grade class project putting together a cookbook and he asked specifically for this one, so I finally had to write it down. It is simple and a safe choice for dinner… unless they’re vegetarian! It’s an old school recipe, but it is satisfying and makes great leftovers.

 

Oven 375°

Glass loaf pan, prepared with cooking spray oil

Cookie sheet, lined with foil

1 Cup oatmeal

1 ½ lb. hamburger

1 15 oz. can tomato sauce, reserve 1/3

1 medium onion, half chopped, half sliced

1 -2 Tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce

2 eggs

salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste (approximately 1 teaspoon of each)

In a large mixing bowl add oatmeal, hamburger, 2/3 can of tomato sauce, chopped onion, Worcestershire, egg, and seasoning. Mix well.

 

Place meatloaf in prepared glass loaf pan, shape so that meatloaf is raised in center and slopes down to edges of pan.

Pour remaining tomato sauce over meatloaf and top with separated onion slices.

Place prepared loaf pan on cookie sheet and bake for 1 – 1 ¼ hours. Let sit for about ten minutes before slicing to serve.

Serve with baked potatoes (bake along with meatloaf). I like green beans with this dinner, but I am thinking you may prefer something else.

Best Brownie’s (Better Homes and Gardens)

IMG_4741.JPG

1 Cup butter

2 Cups Sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

4 eggs

4 1-ounce squares unsweetened chocolate, melted

1 Cup sifted all-purpose organic white flour

1 Cup chopped walnuts

oven 325°

Cream butter, sugar, and vanilla; beat in eggs. Blend in chocolate. Stir in flour and nuts. Bake in greased 13 x 9 x 2 –inch pan at 325° 30 – 35 minutes. Cool. Cut into squares.

 

IMG_4747.JPG

 

 

